Texas DDC (Defensive Driving Course) Online
While no one plans to get pulled over, it happens. If you made a mistake behind the wheel and received a traffic ticket in Texas, you may be eligible to take a Texas defensive driving course to keep your driving record in good standing and prevent a costly insurance hike.
Resolving Your Texas Traffic Ticket
Texas drivers can plead guilty, not guilty, or no contest to a traffic offense. If you feel strongly that your ticket was issued mistakenly and you would like to file a not guilty plea with the court, your best bet is to hire an attorney. Otherwise, submit your guilty or no contest plea before the court deadline printed on your ticket, and the court will determine your next steps. As long as you are not classified as a habitual traffic offender and your ticket was for a minor infraction, the court should allow you to take a Texas DDC (Known as Defensive Driving Course) online to dismiss your ticket and remove points from your driving record.
Do I Qualify For a Defensive Driving Course?
Most drivers who receive a minor moving violation are eligible to take a TEA/TDLR-Approved Defensive Driving course. In addition, you should be able to take your DDC online, as long as you meet certain criteria. If you received a ticket for any of the following, you will NOT be allowed to take a Texas DDC course.
- Driving 25 MPH over the speed limit
- Driving without insurance
- Hit and run
- Improperly passing a school bus
- Violation in a construction zone
Drivers who are eligible to take a Texas defensive driving course for point or ticket dismissal can enroll in a class once every 12 months.
What Are My Course Options?
Texas drivers have 3 course options for ticket dismissal, point reduction, and insurance discount. If you received a minor traffic offense other than a seat belt violation, and you meet the requirements above, you can enroll in a 6-hour Defensive Driving Course. This course will cover traffic laws, safe driving techniques, and common hazards drivers face on the road. Drivers who were referred by the court can take this course as well.
Texas drivers who received a ticket for a seat belt violation can take a separate seat belt course. This course is also 6 hours in length and will cover the value of safety restraint use along with other Texas driving laws and safety tips.
Texas drivers also have the option to enroll in an insurance discount course. Completion of this 6-hour course will entitle you to a reduction in your auto insurance rates that will last for 3 years from the date of completion.
No matter what course you register for, be sure it is approved by the TEA/TDLR. Only a Texas state-certified driving safety course will meet the requirements you’re looking for. Otherwise, you’re just throwing your time and money away.
How Do I Get My Ticket and Points Dismissed?
Once you’ve established the type of course you should take and you’ve received permission from the court to take a course to dismiss your ticket, the rest is a breeze.
1. Sign up and complete a defensive driving, seatbelt, or insurance discount course.
By taking your course online, you’ll have the freedom to fulfill your requirements from home. For the same price as a classroom course, you can enjoy the flexibility and freedom to complete your course at your leisure.
2. Obtain a copy of your driving record.
This step is required in most Texas counties, but contact your court first to find out if you need to submit yours when you turn in your completion information.
3. Submit your course completion certificate and driving record.
You won’t get credit for your course until these documents are received. You should hear from the court that your ticket and points were dismissed. If not, contact the court to follow up and ensure they received your documents.